Harrison and Wu Win Cybersecurity Grant

Posted On October 14, 2020
Categories Faculty News

The National Science Foundation has awarded a $300,000 grant to a team of four Georgia State University researchers for the creation of an evidence-based cybersecurity training and mentorship program for students. The team includes two computer science faculty members, professor Robert Harrison and assistant professor Yubao Wu.

The training program will be a two-month-long workshop during the summer, intended to provide students with both theoretical and hands-on experience in cybersecurity. Faculty from Criminology, Computer Science, and Computer Information Systems will provide an interdisciplinary experience that will prepare students for careers in fields ranging from law to academia.

The grant’s four team members belong to the Evidence-Based Cybersecurity Research Group (EBCS), housed in Georgia State’s Andrew Young School of Policy Studies. EBCS is a group of GSU researchers dedicated to improving cybersecurity by learning from the activities of cybercriminals. The group’s director is Dr. David Maimon, an associate professor in the Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology. Dr. Maimon is the principal investigator on the grant. The grant’s co-PIs are Dr. Harrison, Dr. Wu, and Dr. Richard Baskerville, a Regents Professor and Board of Advisors Professor in the Department of Computer Information Systems.

Story by Ashlie Swanson