Industry Advisory Board

The Department of Computer Science Industry Advisory Board (IAB) is a non-governing advisory board comprised of industry leaders, alumni, and friends. Board members have been selected for their ability to advise the department chair on issues relating to current industry trends, workforce demand, and community engagement. Board members are also our department’s primary goodwill ambassadors, working within our local communities and on campus to advocate for the department’s mission, accomplishments, and aspirations.

The IAB is a non-voting body with a strong focus on the advancement of our department, and does not engage in decision-making related to programs, curricula, personnel, budget, or internal policy development. Members of the IAB are expected to meet twice per year. Each board member is appointed to a three-year term of service (renewable). Duties of IAB members include:

  • Attending biannual board meetings and other events/functions (as requested). Attendance is strongly encouraged.
  • Being well-informed about the department’s mission, policies, goals, programs, and priorities.
  • Serving as the Department of Computer Science’s primary advocates and goodwill ambassadors.
  • Assisting in identification, cultivation, stewardship, and solicitation of donor prospects.
  • Providing advice and counsel to the chair and the associate chair.
  • Advising the department on current trends, expectations, and workforce needs in industry.
  • Assisting in the identification and recruitment of new board members.
  • Providing recommendations, particularly from industry partners, for topics or presenters for our seminars.
  • Encouraging his/her company to donate, or volunteer certain amount of time and/or resources, to the Department of Computer Science.
  • Providing internship opportunities for our students.
  • Helping recruit our students in industries.
  • Making contacts with our potential donors or prospects of the department to support our research labs or fund our research projects.

Current IAB Members

Chris Benson
Chief AI Strategist
Lockheed Martin

Ravishankar Chamarajnagar
Senior Director and Head of Products & Engineering, Internet of Things

Greg Coleson
Director, Cognitive Computing and Emerging Technology
Stanley Black & Decker

Erin-Elizabeth Durham
Data Management Security & Initiatives Leader
GE Digital

Sarah Ming Hsi
Chief Information Officer
United Way of Greater Atlanta

Robert Joseph
Director, Industrial Strategy
Stanley Black & Decker

Seshadri Madapoosi
General Manager, Platforms
NCR Corporation

Girish Modgil
CIO – Data Science, Risk & Finance
GE Power

Hamid Montazeri
Vice President, Software Engineering and Autonomous Robotics
Stanley Black & Decker

Young Oh
Advisory Software Engineer

John Paladino
Vice President, Technology

Jon Preston
Dean, College of Computing and Software Engineering
Kennesaw State University

Andy Rindos
Head, RTP Center for Advanced Studies and IBM Cloud Academy

Roy Su
President & CEO